Press Release

Victory Fund endorses Quinn for Mayor of New York City

Thu, Jan 24th 2013, 09:30


Contact: Denis Dison (202) 567-3308,


Council Speaker Among 21 LGBT Candidates Endorsed for 2013 So Far


Washington, D.C. – The Gay & Lesbian Victory Fund today announced its endorsement of New York City Council Speaker Christine Quinn for mayor of New York. Quinn's election would make New York the world's largest municipality ever to be led by an openly gay mayor.

"Christine Quinn's record leading New York, in some of the city's most challenging times, speaks for itself. She has been a tireless advocate for all of the people of New York, passing seven on-time city budgets, expanding access to pre-kindergarten slots for tens of thousands of New Yorkers, and keeping thousands of teachers from being laid off. But she is also a hero to members of the LGBT community across New York and around the country, who see her honest and open service as a symbol of what's possible for all of us," said Chuck Wolfe, president and CEO of the Victory Fund. "Her election would send a clear message that there are no barriers, no glass ceilings in New York City for LGBT leaders who want to serve their city as public officials."

This latest endorsement comes on top of endorsements Quinn has received from national and statewide organizations such as EMILY's List and Empire State Pride Agenda.

The Victory Fund also announced it has endorsed 21 openly LGBT candidates so far for 2013 races, including mayoral candidates in Seattle, Minneapolis, Houston, Harrisburg, Pa., and Chapel Hill, N.C.

The Victory Fund is the nation's largest LGBT political action committee and the only national organization dedicated to growing the number of openly LGBT elected officials at all levels of government throughout the United States. In 2012, Victory endorsed 180 candidates, with 124 of those going on to win their races, including U.S. Sen. Tammy Baldwin, D-Wis., and six members of the U.S. House of Representatives.

2013 Victory Fund endorsees through January:

Mayoral Races

Mark Kleinschmidt, Mayor, Chapel Hill, N.C. (incumbent)
Daniel Miller, Mayor, Harrisburg, Pa.
Ed Murray, Mayor, Seattle
Annise Parker, Mayor, Houston (incumbent)
Christine Quinn, Mayor, New York City
Gary Schiff, Mayor, Minneapolis

Municipal Legislative Races

Chris Anderson, City Council, Chattanooga, Tenn., District 7
Mike Bonin, City Council, Los Angeles, District 11
Don Bourque, Board of Selectman, Webster, Mass.
Joel Burns, City Council, Fort Worth, Texas, District 9 (incumbent)
Shane Cohn, Board of Aldermen, St. Louis, Ward 25 (incumbent)
Dwayne Crenshaw, City Council, San Diego, District 4
Scott Criqui, City Commission, Lawrence, Kansas
Matt Haag, City Council, Rochester, N.Y. (incumbent)
Robert Lilligren, City Council, Minneapolis, Ward 6
Lawrence Robinson, City Council, Phoenix, District 8
Chris Seelbach, City Council, Cincinnati, At-Large (incumbent)

Other Municipal Races

Carol Becker, Board of Estimate and Taxation, Minneapolis
Ron Galperin, City Controller, Los Angeles
David Vela, Board of Trustees, Los Angeles Community College District, Seat 6

State Legislative Races

Reed Gusciora, N. J. State Assembly, District 15 (incumbent)

Stay Connected

Support Candidates

See all Candidates
Victory Magazine

Join Our Network

YouTube Flickr LinkedIn
The Victory Store